Chevron Baby Quilt!

Recently a very good friend of mine had her first baby. A baby GIRL! Baby Abbie!! I love her to death already. I could spend all day looking at her beautiful face and watching her sleep.

The sex of the baby was unknown until the birth, which drove me crazy because I wanted to start making so many cute baby things, especially cute girly things. Instead I struggled to think of a gender neutral color scheme that would work for a very special quilt. And …this is what I came up with. I used a orange, blue and grey color scheme with cute animal prints and put it all together in a chevron pattern.

For the back I used a large piece of grey charcoal colored fabric, a grey pock-a-dot fabric and left over squares of animal print fabrics, which were used on the front of the quilt. I also quilted the baby quilt following the chevron pattern.

As she grows up she can learn her different animals while cuddling up under this quilt.

I doubled the quilt batting in this quilt to give it more thickness so that Abbie has more cushion when laying or playing on it. This makes the quilt a little heavy to use as a blanket right now, but it will work in the winter as she grows up.

I love this quilt! I am very happy with the colors and how it all came together. This quilt definitely would not have come together if I had of known she was a girl. Instead it would have been very, very pink and girly.

I bound the quilt with white tree fabric. This was the first time I made my own binding. It is so easy! Now my binding world has opened up to any print or any color that I can find.

I had a lot of fun picking all the cute fabrics for this quilt and I look forward to making more baby quilts in the future. Maybe for my own babies? One day… Until then I love holding and loving baby Abbie!

Have fun creating!

XO JCL

6 responses to “Chevron Baby Quilt!

Leave a comment